Minecraft modpacks you can run on a small friends server
A modpack is a ready-made set of mods, installed as one. For a friends server, pick one pack and run it on the server; unless it is a server-only pack, everyone also installs the same pack version in their launcher. Below are 23 Modrinth modpacks grouped by what they are for, each with the Minecraft version it targets, so you can see what fits before you download anything.
Minecraft Java Edition 26.3 is the current release. Data from Modrinth as of 2026-10-04; pack versions move quickly, so check the project page before you install.
What a modpack is
A modpack bundles mods, their settings and sometimes extra files so that you install one thing and not fifty. On Modrinth a modpack is a project of its own, with its own versions, and each version names the Minecraft version and the loader (Fabric, NeoForge, Forge or Quilt) it was built for.
What “server pack” means
Some packs are made to run on the server only: players keep the normal game and install nothing (6 of the 23 below, per Modrinth’s player-side flag). Other packs must be installed by every player as well as on the server. How to set up the server side differs from pack to pack: some project pages explain it or link to server files, others say nothing, so read the project page before you start.
What your friends install
For a server-side pack: nothing. For a pack marked “optional” for players: nothing is required, but the project page says what players gain by installing it. For any other pack: the same pack, at the same version as the server, in a launcher that can install Modrinth packs. Packs also set the Minecraft version the whole group plays on, because each build targets one version.
How a small group runs one
Choose the pack first, then set up a server of the same Minecraft version and loader, then put the pack’s files on it by following the project page. Keep the server and every player on the same pack version. Nobody should update the pack alone.
Which Minecraft version?
12 of the 23 packs below have a build for 26.3, the current release. The other 11 target an older version (shown on each card): that is where several of the largest content packs still are on Modrinth, and a server running 26.3 cannot run them. If you pick one of those, your whole group plays on that older version.
The list
Grouped by purpose, then newest Minecraft version, then name. Use the filters to narrow by purpose, Minecraft version, loader and what players install. With JavaScript off, the full list is shown. Each card says “not stated by the project” when the author’s page does not give a figure; we do not estimate one.
“Players install: nothing” means Modrinth marks the pack as not supported on the client side, so the pack is for the server only. “Pack” means players install it too. “Optional” means players may, but do not have to.
This list was last checked on 2026-10-04; versions may have moved on.
Showing 23 of 23 packs
FarmItCraft
One player’s small set of mods for worlds shared with friends, inspired by Hermitcraft: voice chat, on-screen info and building tools.
Modrinth flags both sides optional. Its page lists Simple Voice Chat, MiniHUD, Tweakeroo and Litematica; voice chat needs a client mod and a reachable voice port.
Steve Fans
A vanilla-plus pack for survival multiplayer, meant for a small group of friends.
Its page says some mods are required on the server for the client to work. Its author also runs it on their own server, Steve Fans.
The Vanilla Experience | TVE
Small changes to the base game, mostly from one author’s own mods; its page says a world keeps working if you later remove them all.
Vanilla Fabric
Close to the base game: Sodium, Lithium and other performance mods, plus small comforts such as AppleSkin and easier anvils, for modest computers.
Its page lists several Minecraft versions and tells you to take care which file you download.
Ziptastic (Server)
Runs on the server alone: performance mods and small tweaks that keep the game close to vanilla, aimed at less lag and lighter processor and memory use.
Players install nothing; the author offers a separate client-side pack as an option.
Better Adventures+
A large vanilla-plus pack: new biomes and structures, a jobs system, quality-of-life mods and visual changes.
Its newest pack versions are for Minecraft 1.21.11; its 26.2 build is older.
Sensible MC
Measured upgrades to the base game: faster loading, discreet visual touches and comfort features, with shaders included.
The memory figure is the one its page gives for the player’s Modrinth profile; it says nothing about a server.
Vanilla Perfected
One YouTuber’s own pick of light mods: better frame rate, a reworked interface, mob animations and dungeon-style structures, keeping the base game’s feel.
Its newest 26.2 build ships a file named for 26.3, which looks like an upload slip; check the file before you install.
SkyBlock Plus
Skyblock run by the server alone: a void world with a starter island, extra islands in some biomes and advancements reordered for skyblock.
Players install nothing.
Cobblemon Official Modpack [Fabric]
The official pack of the Cobblemon mod: catch, battle and trade creatures while exploring the usual Minecraft world.
Its page says the pack and its server package can connect with vanilla Cobblemon servers and clients, and that the Fabric version performs better than the NeoForge one.
Better MC [FORGE] - BMC4
A vanilla-plus adventure pack: quests, reworked world generation, new bosses and mobs, many new structures and the Aether dimension.
Forge, Minecraft 1.20.1: a server on 26.3 cannot run it.
[SUC]Surival Useful Circuit生电全家桶
Built around Carpet for redstone machines and farm automation in survival, with Masa tools such as Litematica and MiniHUD for the player.
Its page is partly in Chinese.
红石生电优化【Redstone Survival Optimization】
A light pack for redstone players; its page also lists mods for playing with friends and voice chat.
Its page is partly in Chinese and mentions shaders for the player’s side.
Create Ultimate
The Create mod with a very large set of add-ons (its page says 50+).
Its newest build for 1.21.1 is a beta.
Create: Complete by Shalz
A Create pack for large-scale automation, moving contraptions, trains and airships, built for one creator’s survival series.
Technical Electrical
A NeoForge pack of tech and magic (Create, Mekanism, Applied Energistics, Ars Nouveau and many more) at an easy pace, where each player picks their own path.
Its page also offers an alpha for Minecraft 26.2 that the author calls unfinished, to use at your own risk. Minecraft 1.21.1.
Arcane Dragons [FABRIC]
Elemental magic, dragons and bosses, with quests and dungeons; the page says it suits multiplayer servers.
This is the Fabric version; its page says the NeoForge version has more content. Minecraft 1.21.1.
Prominence™ II: Hasturian Era
An RPG campaign with its own lore, quests and a capital city full of characters; you build a class, level up and face bosses that keep getting harder.
Fabric, Minecraft 1.20.1: a server on 26.3 cannot run it.
Adrenaline
A Fabric performance pack that its page says can be installed on the client or the server; it has no quality-of-life mods.
Its 26.3 builds are beta.
Guy's Server Modpack
The performance mods one author uses on a private server, plus Simple Voice Chat.
Players install nothing to join; to talk, each player needs the Simple Voice Chat client mod, and the server’s voice port (UDP 24454 by default) must be reachable.
Optimize My Server!
Performance and reliability mods for a server, plus protection against x-ray and a known crash exploit.
Players install nothing. Its page says to copy the mods from the pack’s folder into the server’s mods folder; the NeoForge version is more limited. It includes Async, which its page says processes entities in parallel.
Remarkably Scalable
A performance-only server pack with vanilla behaviour as a priority.
Players install nothing. Built for large player counts, so the gain for a small group has not been measured. Its page says to convert the file and copy the mods, configs and a server.properties file into the server folder; that file replaces yours (the page says to set sync-chunk-writes=false if you keep your own).
Saturn
A Fabric server pack that optimises performance without changing gameplay; its configuration files can be edited.
Players install nothing. Its page has disclaimers about a chat mod it includes; read them.
No pack matches these filters. Choose “All” to see the whole list.
How the packs were chosen
We queried Modrinth’s public API on 2026-10-04 and stored the result; nothing on this page is fetched live. The steps:
- The project type is modpack and the pack is approved on Modrinth. Its author marks the server side as required or optional on Modrinth, which means the author says a server can run it (we have not tested this). The loader is Fabric, NeoForge, Forge or Quilt.
- The Minecraft version of an entry is the newest release for which the pack has a recent stable or beta build; packs whose only recent builds are alpha tests are left out. The current release (26.3) comes from Mojang’s public version manifest.
- The pack is maintained: a stable or beta build for that version was published at most 90 days before 2026-10-04.
- It suits a private survival server of about 2 to 10 friends. We left out minigames and maps, fixed scenarios, horror packs, packs built on third-party franchises, packs made for one community or for a phone launcher, and performance packs that mostly raise the player’s own frame rate.
- We went through the packs that list 26.3 and the most downloaded server-capable packs, then read the project page of each one we kept. Where several editions of one pack exist, we list one.
So the list is our judgement of fit for a small private server, not a ranking, and not a test: we have not run any of these packs on a server. A pack missing here may be good and simply not picked, or newer than our check. The page shows no popularity figures. Each pack has its own licence (several are “all rights reserved”: we link to the project and copy none of its text or images), so read its page before you use or change it.
Will my server handle it?
It depends on the pack, and we do not have a figure we can source for most of them. Modrinth does not publish memory needs, and only 3 of the projects above state one on their own page; each says what it refers to (hosting, a player’s launcher, or not specified). As a rule of thumb (not measured for these packs), a pack with more mods, bigger world generation or more mobs asks more of a server, and the number of players and the size of the world matter as well.
To size a server for your group, start from the Minecraft server RAM calculator, treat its result as an estimate, and then compare it with what the pack’s page says. To check a pack for real, run it with your friends for a session and watch the server’s memory and tick time.
Pitfalls to avoid
- Version mismatch. Each pack build targets one Minecraft version, and some projects list several builds side by side. One of the listed projects tells you to pay attention to which file you download. Check that the server and every player use the same Minecraft version and the same pack version.
- Loader differences. A pack can exist in several editions with different content or performance. For example, one listed project says its NeoForge edition has more content, another that its NeoForge edition is more limited, and the Cobblemon pack says its Fabric edition performs better. Choose the edition by loader, not just by name.
- Pre-release builds. Some entries have only beta or alpha builds for their version (the card says which). That is Modrinth’s own label; read the project page for what the author says about it.
- Update with a copy in hand. Our advice: copy the world folder before you change a pack or its version, so you can go back. A pack update can add or remove mods, and a world can depend on them.
Only a few mods, nothing for players to install?
If you would rather keep the normal game for everyone, a short list of single mods and plugins that need nothing on the player’s side is on the server-side Minecraft mods page.
FAQ
What is a Minecraft modpack?
A bundle of mods, with their settings, that you install as one unit. For a server, the same pack runs on the server and, unless it is a server-side pack, on every player’s game.
What is the most popular modpack in Minecraft?
We cannot say from this page: it shows no download or follower counts and does not rank packs. Popularity is usually measured by downloads, which each platform publishes for its own packs, and Modrinth’s search can sort modpacks by downloads. Popular packs are not always the ones that suit a small friends server or the current Minecraft version, which is why this list is grouped by purpose and shows the version of each.
What are the top 10 Minecraft modpacks?
This page does not rank. It lists packs by what they are for (quality-of-life, adventure, tech, magic, optimised vanilla), with the Minecraft version and loader of each, so you can choose by fit. A top-10 list would need a measure we would have to cite and refresh; the data here is dated instead.
Do my friends need to install the modpack?
It depends on the pack. A server-side pack needs nothing on their side; a pack marked “optional” works without it; any other pack must be installed by each player at the same version as the server. Each card says which.
How much RAM does a modpack server need?
It depends on the pack and the group, and we do not give a figure we cannot source. A card shows a memory figure only when the project’s own page states one. For an estimate of your whole server, use the RAM calculator.
Which loader should I choose: Fabric, NeoForge or Forge?
The pack decides: each build of a pack is made for one loader, and the server must use that one. Some projects offer editions for two loaders, with different content; pick the pack and edition first, then the loader it needs.
Sources
- Modrinth API documentation (accessed 2026-10-04)
- Modrinth terms of use (API usage) (accessed 2026-10-04)
- Minecraft Java Edition version manifest (Mojang) (accessed 2026-10-04)
Each entry links to its Modrinth project page, where its authors’ own description, versions and licence are. Names, loaders, Minecraft versions, build dates, flags and licences come from the API on 2026-10-04; the memory and mod-count figures come from each project’s own page; the one-line descriptions are ours.
Unofficial list, not affiliated with, approved by or endorsed by Modrinth (Rinth, Inc.), Mojang or Microsoft. Data was taken from Modrinth’s public API on 2026-10-04 and may have changed since. Minecraft is a trademark of Mojang. Modrinth is a trademark of Rinth, Inc.